Voice Recognition

Senior wrestler third in state!

Selina Moore wrestling opponent (1/2024)

Congratulations again to S-E wrestlers Selina Moore, Lilly Cox and Pasley French on their appearances at the second annual NYSPHSAA Girls Wrestling Invitational on January 26 at Onondaga Community College’s SRC Arena.

Selina, a senior, placed third at 145 pounds to earn her second straight podium finish in the state girls wrestling tournament. The 138-pound state runner-up as a junior, Selina went 5-1 with three pins at this season’s invitational to improve to 21-7.

Selina opened with a 17-0 technical fall over Chautauqua Lake’s Sophia Gervasio, then suffered a 7-5 quarterfinal loss in sudden victory to eventual 145-pound state champion Rebecca Brennan of New Paltz. Selina rebounded with back-to-back pins of Walt Whitman’s Camila Hidalgo (21 seconds) and Oneonta’s Maia Woertendyke (19 seconds), then earned a 10-6 decision over Alivia Ortiz of Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk. Her run through wrestlebacks ended with a pin of West Seneca’s Christina Evans (2:01) in the third-place match at 145.

Lilly, also a senior, finished 2-2 at 235 pounds in her first invitational appearance. Pinned in her opener against Valley Stream North’s Naomi Gonzalez, Lilly responded with consecutive wrestleback pins over Burnt Hills’ Annabelle Hinkle (2:56) and Fulton’s Marissa Crofoot (1:49). Her run ended with a 12-1 loss by major decision to Windsor’s Alexis Durdon. Lilly is 5-4 this season, with all five of her victories coming by pin.

Pasley, a junior, earned her second straight trip to the invitational in the 94-pound weight class. She made it to the second period in her matches against Shaker’s Julia Duro and Columbia’s Kiara Murdie, who both won by pin. Pasley is 11-12 on the season, winning three times by pin.

The trio will be back in action February 3 as S-E travels to Mount Markham to compete in the Section III Class D Tournament.

Visit our Facebook page to see dozens of photos from the NYSPHSAA Girls Wrestling Invitational!
Posted 1/30/2024

Print This Article
© 2024. Sherburne Earlville Central School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website